NEW YORK, NY – Women’s National Basketball Players Association Director of Operations Terri Jackson announced the results of all five of its Executive Committee positions of leadership.  Nnemkadi Ogwumike was elected President, Layshia Clarendon elected as First Vice President, Monique Currie and Chiney Ogwumike, to the offices of Vice President; and Monica Wright as Secretary-Treasurer.

“We are thrilled about our new Executive Committee,” said Jackson.  “I believe we have a group of women who are committed to leading and representing the collective voice of a diverse membership.”

Ogwumike, of the Los Angeles Sparks and former WNBPA Vice President, was elected to the office of President after running unopposed. “I am looking forward to serving as Executive Committee President and having a voice that will be heard, while representing, collaborating with, and leading our players’ union,” said Ogwumike.  Her term as President will last three years, per the WNBPA’s Constitution and Bylaws. Ogwumike was recently named the WNBA’s Most Valuable Player for the 2016 season and is set to play in the deciding game five of the WNBA Finals this Thursday against the Minnesota Lynx in Minnesota.

Clarendon will serve as the Executive Committee’s First Vice President.  This Office also carries a three-year term. In her first four years in the league, Clarendon has been a Player Representative for both the Indiana Fever and Atlanta Dream.  “I am looking forward to serving the women in our league as a voice that represents the varied backgrounds and needs of all of us,” said Clarendon.

Joining Ogwumike and Clarendon on the Executive Committee, are ten-year WNBA veteran Currie; and former Rookie of the Year and Ogwumike’s younger sister, Chiney Ogwumike, to the offices of Vice President; and Wright as Secretary-Treasurer.  Wright won WNBA titles as a member of the Minnesota Lynx (2011 and 2013) and currently plays for the Seattle Storm.

WNBPA Executive Committee offices opened following the retirements of Tamika Catchings (President), Swin Cash (First Vice President), and Jayne Appel Marinelli (Secretary-Treasurer), and after the two-year terms for both Nnemkadi Ogwumike (Vice President) and Tanisha Wright (Vice President) expired.

“I would like to thank Tamika Catchings, Swin Cash, Jayne Appel Marinelli and Tanisha Wright for their service on our Executive Committee,” said Jackson.  “Their contributions to the Union have been instrumental in our growth and we will be forever grateful.”



Previous reading
Next reading
A Close-Up With … Lindsey Harding